• In Depth
  • Origins
  • The Seven Developmental Stages
  • Somatic Ego Functions
  • Bodynamic Overview
  • Character Structure Videos
  • Psychological Muscle Functions
  • BodyMap Article

Overview of the seven stage model of child development and the seven character types that emerge from each stage:

Existence (womb - 3 months): where a basic imprint of one's right to exist and sense of being alive is formed, from womb life, birth and early infancy.

Need (1 month - 18 months): where the infant's experience of having core satisfaction of basic needs is established.

Autonomy (8 months - 2 years, 6 months): The child begins to move out and explore the world through an explosion of psychomotor skills. An imprint of the child's impulses toward autonomy is formed.

Will (2 - 4 years): The child's task at this age is of learning to focus, express and contain power in relationship and the world.

Love/Sexuality (3 - 6 years): Where the child learns to love in a romantic way and learns to integrate heart and sexual feelings.

Opinion Forming (5 - 8 years): The child learns to open up the world through thought, and learns to deal with rules, norms and culture.

Solidarity/Performance (7 - 12 years): Where the child finds a place in culture by learning how to be a member of group and community; by exploring competitive and leveling impulses. Also a time of acquiring and mastering high level skills.